US Open winner unveils wild yip move — and the internet had ideas

Lucas Glover on Thursday on the American Categorical Championships.

twitter.com

He made the slam dunk. And there are not any photographs, as they are saying, within the scorecard, however a five-second video clip struck a chord.

Identical to right here:

And right here:

And on and on. May you Google “Lucas Glover putt” or Search on Twitter Identical subject for extra. Regardless of the wealth of knowledge, it’s possible you’ll be asking your self this:

What is that this?

Technically, that is straightforward! It was a 3-foot putt by 2009 US Open winner Lucas Glover throughout Thursday’s first spherical of the match. American Categorical Competitors. However as you possibly can see – maybe – there’s extra. Or is it much less? On the putt, Glover retrieved his blade once more with a fast wrist flip, then moved it ahead with one other flip, and his ball rolled in.

Though now you could have extra questions…

Has Lucas Glover been put this manner earlier than?

sure, Most notably in final 12 months’s Honda Traditionalbecause it was recorded and shared on-line very similar to this week’s state of affairs, and you’ll check out that under.

Is it authorized?

On Hit Honda, we dug into this. Briefly, sure, and Here is what we wrote:

Below Rule 10.1you will see “Stroke” outlined as follows:

The stroke is made by hanging considerably with the ball with the pinnacle of the membership. The first problem is to direct and management the motion of the whole membership by swinging the membership freely with out clamping it.

Within the related language below 10.1a/1the principles specify three strategies that don’t represent a “hit”:



This eyebrow-raising stroke was virtually unlawful — which is why it wasn’t

by:

Luke Kerr Dineen



– A participant punches a brief putt by hitting the ball with the underside of the membership head, utilizing a movement just like that used to strike a ball in billiards or shuffleboard. Transfer the ball like this push.

– the participant strikes the membership alongside the floor of the earth and pulls it in the direction of it. Transferring the ball on this means is a scratch.

– The participant slides a racket below the ball and really near the ball. Then the participant lifts and strikes the ball utilizing a ahead and up movement. Transferring the ball like this can be a scoop.

Which brings us again to Glover. After dropping Honda, a small group of commentators on social media speculated that the hit was extra of a push, which ought to have constituted a one-shot penalty. And though it could appear to be this to the bare eye, whenever you decelerate the video, you possibly can see the smallest background oscillations. You can even see Glover’s arms shifting (barely), implying that this was a authentic stroke by the principles of golf, half and sq..

why?

It is a step yip. Golf Digest Luke Kerr-Dineen expertly notes which Glover has put “historically” on at the least two different events on American Categorical Thursdays, and the query requested was an anomaly. Though it was at the least below Some management. In spite of everything, there was this one from Glover:

After all, it wasn’t all the time like that. Glover was a world class participant. Moreover profitable the Open Championship, he additionally gained the 2005 Funai Traditional and the 2011 Wells Fargo Championship. However then golf obtained into his head, as a result of that is what golf does.

However Glover labored at it, like Properly described by Michael Bamberger right here. And Glover gained once more, in 2021 on the John Deere Traditional.

Nevertheless, there’s a quote in Bamberger’s article, that maybe sums up our query higher. It comes from Glover’s agent, Mac Barnhardt.

“You’ll be able to’t heal from springs—everybody has them. However you possibly can scale back them.”

And on Thursday, Glover hit the ball.

Golf Journal

Subscribe to the journal

Subscription

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski

Golf.com editor

Nick Piastowski is a senior editor at Golf.com and Golf Journal. In his function, he’s liable for modifying, writing and growing tales throughout the golf house. And when he is not writing about methods to hit a golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native in all probability performs the sport, hitting the ball left, proper, and quick, and ingesting chilly beer to scrub his rating. You’ll be able to attain out to him about any of those matters—his tales, his recreation, or his beer—at nick.piastowski@golf.com.

Leave a Comment